Thursday, 13 December 2007

Golf club celebrates achievements at annual awards presentation evening

THE achievements of Minehead and West Somerset Golf Club members were celebrated at the annual trophy presentation evening.
The day began traditionally with the playing of the Massey Poyntz Cup, although this year, while the course remained open, the competition was cancelled due to the appalling weather and was rescheduled for tomorrow (Sunday, December 23).
The presentation evening saw 86 trophies given out to members, with highlights including the Avalon League division seven winners cup going to the victorious club side.
Champion of the Ladies game was Charlotte Ross, who not only won the Ladies Club Championship Hosegood Trophy but also the Clanville Bowl and Wimbush Cup.
In the Club section, John Fisher won the Club Championship with the best gross score over 36 holes.
He also won the Ridler Trophy for the best nett score in the same competition, the Dawson Thomas, and President's Trophy with partner Tony Hardick.
The most successful golfers during the season were Nancy Marshall, who collected four individual and two pairs trophies, Nigel Grabham. who collected one individual and four pairs trophies, and Keith Babb, who collected five individual trophies.
Six new trophies were played for this season.
In the Senior's section, the Dixie's Bogey, a trophy presented by member Ken Sims and named after his dog which regularly accompanied him on his round of golf, was won by Peter Heddercott, who, coincidently, also had his dog with him from time to time.
Club steward Graham Walsh donated the Stewards Challenge Trophy and this was won by Allan Burton and Clive Gurr.
In the Club section, four new trophies were presented for the first time.
The President's Trophy, given by club president Ben Gliddon, was won by John Fisher and Tony Hardick.
Another 'new' trophy was the Artisan Cup, originally presented to the club in 1959 on the disbandment of the Artisans - a group of about 40 who were not full members and who used to arrive at the club by playing their way across the beach, subject to the tide being out.
The trophy was found and reintroduced by club Captain Denis Compton as a 36-hole competition played in one day, and it was won by Andy Atkins.
The Freddie Burton Bowmaker Salver was given to the club by Mrs Burton to be played for in the memory of her husband Freddie, who died this year. Freddie was one of the club's characters and is sadly missed. The winners were Steve Gay, Adrian Ryan, and David Ryan.
The final new trophy to be awarded was the Fagg Cup, donated by the HH Fagg Golf Society. 'The Faggs' are a group of golfers from the Windsor and Ascott area who have visited Minehead each June for the past 30 years.
The new cup is therefore played for during the first week of June. This year, it was won by Steve Plenty.
The winners of Minehead and West Somerset Golf Club trophies competed for throughout the year were:
Seniors Section: Porlock Cup - R Rufus, Burgess Trophy - R Swallow, Barrett Cup - R Swallow, Marshall Cup - G Walsh, Metcalfe Cup - T Pope & R Ireland, New Century Cup - J Fulwell & P Heddercott, Charles Eaves Tankard - R Rufus, Dexter Neville Salver - R brown, Captain's Shield - G Jones, J Perkins & J Fulwell, The Roy Bishop - G Walsh, Trafalgar Tankard -G Jones & N Parsons, Steward's Challenge Trophy - A Burton & C Gurr, Dixie's Bogey - P Heddercott.
Junior Section: Norman Green Trophy - A Dover, Frances Adams Trophy - M Stent, The Brian Lewis - C Knight, George Hampshire Trophy - D Ryan, The Henry Dibble - T Heard, Ridler Trophy - S Stent, Somerwest World - C Knight, Junior Championship - W Knight.
Ladies Section: Hosegood Trophy (Club Championship) - C Ross, Junior Bowl - A Oglesby, Wimbush Cup - C Ross, Wimbush Bowl - N Marshall, Cromer Cup - S Hill, Berger Cup - J Stanlake, Poyntz Cup - N Marshall, Phillips Cup - P Hole & I Swinburn, Floyd Cup - R Chidgey, Dunster Bowl - S Bartlett, Leukaemic Trophy - M Gliddon, Coronation Cup - N Marshall, Powell Cup - S Bartlett, Ladies Luttrell Cup - N Marshall, Clanville Bowl - C Ross, Michaelmas Bowl - S Hill, Winter Matchplay Trophy - J Stanlake, Lorna Sparkes Trophy - G Bowyer, Centenary Trophy - L Davis, Bronze Cup - R Chidgey, Vets' Trophy - M Foot, Clover Cup - S Rigg, Captain's Salver - A Oglesby.
Club Section: Club Championship - J Fisher, Ridler Trophy - J Fisher, Captain's Winter Four Ball Better Ball - T Hardick & J Murphy, The Ray Boddy - K Babb, Day Dewdney Foursomes - N Grabham & C Knight, Martell Cup - G Latham, Spring Cup - P Collins, Brown Cup - R Holland, Grant Cup - T Bowden, Scorpion Cup - B McCaffrey & D Stevens, Elizabethan Cup - M Rutley & S Salter, St Audries Cup - S Clarke & D Oatridge, Centenary Trophy - A Whiting, Centenary Tankard - M Vickery, Billy Wynn Foursomes - P Truscott & A Whiting, Weston Cup - N Marshall & N Grabham, Alcombe Cup - J Murphy, Simplicity Box - C Sidley-Adams, Roy Sparkes Trophy - N Grabham & D Oatridge, Bushen Cup - G Yeates, Tipper Trophy - N Marshall & N Grabham, Bon Cup - C Sidley-Adams, D Hillier & M Vickery, Hayman Rabbit - D Day, Tarr Cup - K Babb, Clarke Cup - N Grabham, Harry Gould Trophy - B Jones, Tony Pendray Trophy - J A'Court & D Ryan, Todd Cup - P Davies, Millennium Trophy - Tom McGann, The Dawson Thomas - J Fisher, Weacombe Bowl - M Vickery, Luttrell Cup (Both Sections) K Babb, Scratch Knockout - K Babb, Eclectic Cup - K Murrell, Gold Star - K Babb, Best Nett - G Yeates, Atrizans Cup - A Atkins, Fagg Cup - S Plenty, President's Trophy - J Fisher & T Hardick, Freddie Burton Bowmaker - S Gay, A Ryan & D Ryan.

  • OUR photographs show: TOP - Trophy winners at Minehead and West Somerset Golf Club line up at the annual presentation evening (left to right): Back row - G Yeates, A Whiting, M Vickery, B Jones, D Hillier and P Collins. Middle - P Salter, R Holland, A Atkins, P Davies, J Fisher, A Hardick, B McCaffrey, D Stevens and K Murrell. Front - G Latham, D Ryan, J A'Court, J Holland (Ladies Captain), D Compton (Club Captain) N Marshall, N Grabham, S Clarke and K Murrell.
    MIDDLE - Ladies section winners (left to right) with Club Captain D Compton: Back row - P Hole, I Swinburn, A Oglesby, M Foot, S Hill. Front - J Stanlake, C Ross, J Holland (Lady Captain), N Marshall, M Gliddon.
    BOTTOM - Junior section winners (left to right) with Club Captain D Compton (front, centre): Back row - W Knight, D Ryan, T Heard, A Dover. Front - M Stent and S Stent. All photos by John York.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.